How to emulate package.php?

Sep 19, 2011 at 9:14 AM

Hi,

I was following this blog post here which explains how to utilize "Windows Azure Command-line Tools for PHP Developers" in order to create a package of a sample PHP file.

That project seems now deprecated with a followup link to this project.  Therefore I have downloaded the latest of  PHPAzure project here and hoped to continue where I had left off.

According to the blog this command line should create the PHPInfo sample page:

php package.php --project=PHPInfo --phpRuntime="C:\Program Files\PHP" --source="%TMP%\PHPInfo" --runDevFabric

However most of this parameters don't exist anymore.

I tried to follow up the help and came up with this:

package create --InputPath="C:\projects\PHPInfo" --RunDevFabric

However I get now the error message:

Error: Could not locate ServiceDefinition.csdef at C:\projects\PHPInfo/ServiceDefinition.csdef.

With the former tool this step was not required. Since I am new to this, may you please be so kind and explain to me how I would create a Service definition file in order to host my small PHP sample page?

FYI, my final goal is to host WordPress on Azure, hence I was following the Blog above in first place.

Many Thanks for your help,

Houman

Editor
Sep 19, 2011 at 3:55 PM

Houman,

Indeed the other project has been deprecated. A new set of command line tools has been built which is much more powerful than the single package.php from the deprecated project. Due to an entirely revamped PHP SDK the new command line tools have necessarily made some changes over the previous package.php. The article you refer to above should have also been deprecated and you should use the following article:

http://azurephp.interoperabilitybridges.com/articles/build-and-deploy-a-windows-azure-php-application

Since you are interested in WordPress you may also want to take a look at these articles: